

Working Group on Common Interest Communities and Homeowners Associations

Tuesday, Sept. 10, 2024 10:00 AM – 12:00 PM Ladyslipper Room, Centennial Office Building

Members Present: Representative Bahner Senator Lucero Senator Pha Roxanne Kimball Shaun Zavadsky JoAnn Borden Colleen Daly Emily Green Matthew Anderson Phaedra Howard Kim Berggren Tal Anderson Joel Hanson Joe Nemo Denise Butler Jonathan Murray Becky Cole Katherine Kelly, as designee from the Attorney General's office.

Members Excused: Ivory Taylor

September 10th, 2024 Meeting Minutes

Rep. Bahner called the meeting of the Working Group on Common Interest Communities and Homeowners Associations to order at 10:05 AM.

Welcome and Introductions

Rep. Bahner and staff introduced themselves and the purpose of the working group. The Working Group members were asked to introduce themselves and their interests in the work of the group.

Election of the Chair

Rep. Bahner was nominated to be Chair of the Working Group, and Sen. Lucero and Denise Butler were nominated to be Vice-Chair. Rep. Bahner was elected Chair and Sen. Lucero were elected by separate roll call votes.

Legislation and Open Meeting Law

Staff walked through the Working Group's enabling legislation and provided information on the Open Meeting Law.

Administrative Topics

Members discussed meeting date frequency, timing, and duration.

Working Group Responsibilities

The Working Group went through a Scope document and discussed what is in and out of scope for the Group to review.

Next steps and adjournment

Staff discussed the focus of the next meeting of the Working Group to include an overview on the current state of CICs in Minnesota.

There being no further business, the Working Group adjourned at 11:37 AM