

Working Group on Common Interest Communities and Homeowners Associations

Members Present: Representative Bahner Representative Mekeland Senator Lucero Senator Pha Emily Green Kim Berggren Becky Cole Carin Mrotz Roxanne Kimball Phaedra Howard JoAnn Borden Joel Hanson Friday, Jan. 24th, 2024 10:00 AM – 12:00 PM Virtual via Zoom

Joe Nemo Shaun Zavadsky Tal Anderson Colleen Daly Ivory Taylor

Members Excused: Denise Butler Jonathan Murray Matthew Anderson

January 24th, 2025 Meeting Minutes

Rep. Bahner called the meeting to order at 10:03 AM and welcomed the group back. The meeting minutes for the January 17th meeting were adopted by a voice vote.

Working Group staff walked through the agenda for the meeting.

Discussion on Recommendations

The Working Group discussed if the high-impact recommendations that were prioritized at the January 17th, 2025, meeting sufficiently represented needed reforms and regulations to CICs in Minnesota. Through discussion, several edits to language were added to multiple recommendations and one recommendation was elevated to the high-impact recommendations list.

Vote to Approve Adopt Final Recommendations for the Final Report

Vice-Chair Lucero moved to approve the high-priority Working Group recommendations, as modified. The vote results are as follows:

Aye: Chair Bahner, Vice-Chair Lucero, Senator Pha, Rep. Mekeland, Member Kimball, Member Zavadsky, Member Borden, Member Daly, Member Green, Member Howard, Member Mrotz, Member Hanson, Member Nemo, Member Cole, Member Taylor

Abstain: Member Tal Anderson

Excused: Member Matt Anderson, Member Berggren, Member Butler, Member Murray

There being 15 ayes, 1 abstention, and 4 excused, the motion prevailed.

Vote to Approve the Preparation and Submission of the Final Report

Vice-Chair Lucero moved to approve the report including the recommendations previously adopted by the Working Group, and authorized Chair Bahner and Vice-Chair Lucero to work with staff to prepare the report and submit it to the Legislature. The vote results are as follows:

Aye: Chair Bahner, Vice-Chair Lucero, Senator Pha, Rep. Mekeland, Member Kimball, Member Zavadsky, Member Borden, Member Daly, Member Green, Member Howard, Member Mrotz, Member Hanson, Member Nemo, Member Cole, Member Taylor

Abstain: Member Tal Anderson

Excused: Member Matt Anderson, Member Berggren, Member Butler, Member Murray

There being 15 ayes, 1 abstention, and 4 excused, the motion prevailed.

Vote to Approve the 1/24/25 Meeting Minutes

Vice-Chair Lucero moved to authorize LCC staff to prepare and Chair Bahner to approve the meeting minutes from the 1/24/25 meeting and have the minutes added to the appendix of the report. The vote results are as follows:

Aye: Chair Bahner, Vice-Chair Lucero, Senator Pha, Rep. Mekeland, Member Kimball, Member Zavadsky, Member Borden, Member Daly, Member Green, Member Howard, Member Mrotz, Member Hanson, Member Nemo, Member Cole, Member Taylor, Member Tal Anderson

Excused: Member Matt Anderson, Member Berggren, Member Butler, Member Murray

There being 16 ayes and 4 excused, the motion prevailed.

There being no further business before the Working Group, the group adjourned at 11:59 AM.