## Vehicle Registration Task Force

## Minutes

February 6, 2020 Room 1100, Minnesota Senate Building 9:00 AM

Members Present: Senator Mary Kiffmeyer, Chair **Commissioner Margaret Anderson Kelliher** Amber Backhaus Senator Scott Dibble Jon Eichten **Representative Steve Elkins** Mike Hintz Senator John Jasinski Timothy Lynaugh Nicole Mickelson **Representative John Petersburg** Aly Quinn Kristi Schroedl Gaye Smith Suzanne Sobotka **Representative Brad Tabke** Tu Tong

Members Excused: Representative Dave Baker Emma Corrie Senator Susan Kent

Senator Kiffmeyer, Chair, called the meeting of the Vehicle Registration Task Force to order at 9:08 AM in Room 1100 of the Minnesota Senate Building.

A quorum was present.

Senator Jasinski moved approval of the minutes from the December 2, 2019 meeting. THE MINUTES WERE ADOPTED.

Kristi Schroedl, Chief Financial Officer, Minnesota Department of Transportation, Josh Knatterud-Hubinger, Budget Director, Minnesota Department of Transportation, and Tony Anderson, Program Director, Department of Public Safety, provided an overview on how a weight-based funding structure along with three hybrid structures (modified value based, tiered age-based and hybrid age-based) could be implemented in a revenue neutral manner.

Members discussed possible Task Force recommendations.

The following people addressed member questions and spoke to potential Task Force recommendations:

Ken Buna, FAST Enterprises

Rick King, Chair of the Blue Ribbon Council on Information Technology

Rep. Tabke moved the Task Force recommend to the Legislature 1) amending the "base value" calculation in Minn. Stat. §168.013, subd. 1a, by eliminating the destination charge, so that the base value of the vehicle is the manufacturer's suggested retail price (MSRP) base price for newly registered vehicles and 2) eliminating the "hold harmless" provision in Minn. Stat. §168.013, subdivision 1a, paragraph (j). Seconded.

THE MOTION PREVAILED. (The Chair noted that there was no opposition to the motion.)

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 10:48 AM.