## Vehicle Registration Task Force

## Minutes

October 29, 2019 Room 1100, Minnesota Senate Building 11:00 AM

Members Present: Senator Mary Kiffmeyer, Chair **Commissioner Margaret Anderson Kelliher** Amber Backhaus Emma Corrie Senator Scott Dibble Jon Eichten **Representative Steve Elkins** Mike Hintz Senator John Jasinski Timothy Lynaugh Senator Susan Kent Nicole Mickelson **Representative John Petersburg** Aly Quinn Kristi Schroedl Gaye Smith Suzanne Sobotka **Representative Brad Tabke** Tu Tong

Members Excused: Representative Dave Baker

Senator Kiffmeyer, Chair, called the meeting of the Vehicle Registration Task Force to order at 11:07 AM in Room 1100 of the Minnesota Senate Building.

A quorum was present.

Senator Jasinski moved approval of the minutes from the September 25, 2019 meeting. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Members discussed the analysis the Department of Transportation is to conduct on the registration fee structures of flat rate, weight-based, value-based and age-based utilizing data provided by the Department of Public Safety.

Commissioner John Harrington, Department of Public Safety, provided background on the Vehicle Title and Registration System and spoke to the data the Department of Public Safety provided for the fee structure analysis.

Ken Buna, FAST Enterprises, provided an update on the development of the software for the Vehicle Title and Registration System as related to the registration fee structure.

Judy Randall, Deputy Legislative Auditor, Office of the Legislative Auditor (OLA), presented an overview of the OLA 2018 report on MNLARS Transaction Accuracy.

The following people addressed Task Force member questions:

Joan Redwing, Chief Business Technology Officer, Department of Public Safety Tony Anderson, Program Director, Department of Public Safety

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 12:47 PM.