## LEGISLATIVE COMMISSION ON PLANNING AND FISCAL POLICY

## **MEETING MINUTES**

November 20, 2013

## Members Present:

Representative Paul Thissen, Chair Representative Lyndon Carlson Representative Kurt Daudt Representative Greg Davids Representative Mary Liz Holberg Representative Diane Loeffler Representative Erin Murphy Senator Tom Bakk, Vice Chair Senator David Hann Senator Scott Newman Senator David Senjem Senator Katie Sieben Senator Rod Skoe

## Members Excused:

Representative Ann Lenczewski Representative Paul Marquart Senator Richard Cohen Senator Tony Lourey Senator Sandy Pappas

Representative Thissen called the meeting of the Legislative Commission on Planning and Fiscal Policy to order at 2:13 pm on Wednesday, November 20, 2013 in Room 10 of the State Office Building.

A quorum was present.

Representative Davids moved approval of the October 30, 2013 meeting minutes. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Michael Langley, Chief Executive Officer, GREATER MSP, presented on the state of Minnesota's economy in the metro area.

Brad Finstad, Executive Director, Center for Rural Policy and Development, presented an overview of the State of Rural Minnesota report for 2013.

Steve Hine, Director of Labor Market Information, Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development, and Kim Babine, Director of Government Affairs, Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development, presented on Minnesota's economy and labor market.

Sara Drake, Pharmacy Manager, Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS), presented on the Medical Assistance Drug Formulary Committee.

Julie Marquardt, Acting Director, Purchasing and Service Delivery Division, DHS, presented on the Medical Assistance Peer Advisory Committee.

Members agreed to recommend the repeal of the Medical Assistance Peer Advisory Committee.

Vicki Kunerth, Deputy Inspector General, DHS, presented on the Medical Assistance Vendor Advisory Task Force.

Members agreed to recommend the repeal of the Medical Assistance Vendor Advisory Task Force.

Alex Bartolic, Disability Services Director, presented on the Services to Persons with Developmental or Physical Disabilities Task Force.

Members agreed to recommend the repeal of the Services to Persons with Developmental or Physical Disabilities Task Force.

Roberta Opheim, Ombudsman, Office of Ombudsman for Mental Heather and Developmental Disabilities, presented on the Ombudsman Committee for Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities.

Members agreed to recommend the Ombudsman Committee for Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities continue.

Dave Greeman, Budget Director, Minnesota Department of Health (MDH), and Diane Rydrych, Health Policy Division, MDH, presented on the Health Care Reform Review Council.

Members agreed to recommend the repeal the Health Care Reform Review Council.

Diane Rydrych, Health Policy Division Director, MDH, presented on the Provider Peer Grouping System Advisory Committee.

Members agreed to recommend the Provider Peer Grouping System Advisory Committee continue.

Dave Greeman, Budget Director, MDH, and Joanne Bartkus, Public Health Lab Director, MDH, presented on the Laboratory Assessor Selection Committee.

Members agreed to recommend the Laboratory Assessor Selection Committee continue and expire in 2018.

Dave Greeman, Budget Director, MDH, and Colleen Paulus, Manager of Food, Pools and Lodging Services, MDH, presented on the Health Licensing Advisory Councils.

Members agreed to send the Health Licensing Advisory Councils to committee for review without recommendation.

Robert Smude, Drinking Water Protection Administrative Supervisor, MDH, presented on the Water Supply Systems and Wastewater Treatment Facilities Advisory.

Members agreed to recommend the Water Supply Systems and Wastewater Treatment Facilities Advisory be reestablished.

Sue Gens, Executive Director, Minnesota State Arts Board, presented on the Arts Board Advisory Committees.

Members agreed to recommend the Arts Board Advisory Committees continue.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 4:59 pm.