# Legislative Salary Council Friday, February 21, 2025 1:00 PM

### **Meeting Minutes**

MEMBERS PRESENT
Jim Fleming, Chair
Denny Laufenburger, Vice Chair
Tom Bartholomew
Michael Casey
Dyan Ebert
Gregory Egan
Beth Jenson Prouty
Frank Jewell
Brian Melendez
Austin Peterson
Andy Pratt
Steve Robinson
Ken White

MEMBERS EXCUSED Pam Langseth Tanwi Prigge

Jim Fleming, convener, called the meeting of the Legislative Salary Council to order at 1:03 PM in the Ladyslipper Room of the Centennial Office Building. A quorum was present.

## Introduction of members and staff

Council members and staff introduced themselves.

## Adopt agenda

Denny Laufenburger moved approval of the agenda. Seconded. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

#### Election of chair and vice chair

Gregory Egan nominated Jim Fleming for the position of Chair.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Tom Bartholomew, Michael Casey, Dyan Ebert, Gregory Egan, Jim Fleming, Beth Jenson Prouty, Frank Jewell, Denny Laufenburger, Brian Melendez, Austin Peterson, Andy Pratt, Steve Robinson, Ken White.

There being 13 Ayes, 0 Nays, and 2 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Jim Fleming nominated Denny Laufenburger for the position of Vice Chair.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Tom Bartholomew, Michael Casey, Dyan Ebert, Gregory Egan, Jim Fleming, Beth Jenson Prouty, Frank Jewell, Denny Laufenburger, Brian Melendez, Austin Peterson, Andy Pratt, Steve Robinson, Ken White.

There being 13 Ayes, 0 Nays, and 2 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

## **Open Meeting Law and Data Practices Act**

Nick Nigro, Research Analyst, Legislative Coordinating Commission, presented an overview of the Open Meeting Law and the Minnesota Data Practices Act.

### Consider proposed policies

Michelle Yurich, Executive Director, Legislative Coordinating Commission, presented an overview of the proposed Legislative Salary Council Data Practices Policy for Members of the Public and the proposed Legislative Salary Council Data Practices Policy for Data Subjects.

Denny Laufenburger moved adoption of the Legislative Salary Council Data Practices Policy for Members of the Public. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Tom Bartholomew, Michael Casey, Dyan Ebert, Gregory Egan, Jim Fleming, Beth Jenson Prouty, Frank Jewell, Denny Laufenburger, Brian Melendez, Austin Peterson, Andy Pratt, Steve Robinson, Ken White.

There being 13 Ayes, 0 Nays, and 2 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Steve Robinson moved adoption of the Legislative Salary Council Data Practices Policy for Data Subjects. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Tom Bartholomew, Michael Casey, Dyan Ebert, Gregory Egan, Jim Fleming, Beth Jenson Prouty, Frank Jewell, Denny Laufenburger, Brian Melendez, Austin Peterson, Andy Pratt, Steve Robinson, Ken White.

There being 13 Ayes, 0 Nays, and 2 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

## Summary of Constitutional and Statutory provisions related to the Council

Nick Nigro, Research Analyst, Legislative Coordinating Commission, presented an overview of the constitutional and statutory provisions relating to the Legislative Salary Council.

## Legislator compensation data

Nick Nigro, Research Analyst, Legislative Coordinating Commission, presented data on Minnesota legislator compensation and per diem history and other compensation such as: insurance, retirement, and reimbursable expenses. Mr. Nigro also advised members of additional data in their packets, which included information on legislative salaries and per diem in other states, the salaries of Minnesota's elected officials and various salary increase comparisons.

Pete Skwara, Controller/Chief Financial Officer, House Budget and Accounting addressed Council member questions related to legislative compensation, payments, per diems and budgets.

Chair Fleming called a recess at 1:49 PM.

Chair Fleming called the meeting back to order at 2:00 PM.

### **Overview of November Budget Forecast**

Bryan Dahl, Financial Planning Director, Minnesota Management and Budget, provided an overview of the November 2024 Budget and Economic Forecast.

#### **Council Discussion**

Council members discussed the data presented, the recommendations from the 2023 Council Report, potential salary determinations and items to be included in the 2025 Council Report.

Brian Melendez moved to prescribe the salary for legislative members to be \$51,750 effective July 1, 2025. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Tom Bartholomew, Michael Casey, Dyan Ebert, Gregory Egan, Jim Fleming, Beth Jenson Prouty, Frank Jewell, Denny Laufenburger, Brian Melendez, Austin Peterson, Steve Robinson, Ken White.

There being 12 Ayes, 0 Nays, and 3 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Brian Melendez moved to authorize staff to prepare the report required under Minnesota Statutes 15.025 reflective of the council discussion and include any technical changes that are necessary. A copy of the draft report shall be distributed to members for review and comment prior to submission. The chair and vice chair are authorized to approve and work with staff to submit the final report.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Tom Bartholomew, Michael Casey, Dyan Ebert, Gregory Egan, Jim Fleming, Beth Jenson Prouty, Frank Jewell, Denny Laufenburger, Brian Melendez, Austin Peterson, Steve Robinson, Ken White.

There being 12 Ayes, 0 Nays, and 3 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Jim Fleming moved to authorize staff to prepare and the chair to approve the meeting minutes from today's meeting.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Tom Bartholomew, Michael Casey, Dyan Ebert, Gregory Egan, Jim Fleming, Beth Jenson Prouty, Frank Jewell, Denny Laufenburger, Brian Melendez, Austin Peterson, Steve Robinson, Ken White.

There being 12 Ayes, 0 Nays, and 3 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

# Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 3:47 PM.