

Monday, July 29, 2024 10:30 AM Room G-15, State Capitol https://www.lcc.mn.gov/satlsg/

Members Present:

Representative Heather Keeler, Chair Representative Ben Bakeberg Representative Bryan Lawrence Representative Bianca Virnig Senator Steve Cwodzinski Senator Robert Farnsworth Senator Mary Kunesh

Meeting Minutes

Rep. Keeler, designated convener, called the meeting of the Student Attendance and Truancy Legislative Study Group to order at 10:38 AM in Room G-15 of the State Capitol. A quorum was present.

Introduction of Members and Staff

Members appointed to the Student Attendance and Truancy Legislative Study Group introduced themselves. LCC staff, Nick Nigro, Research Analyst, and Meena Xiong, Commission Administrative Assistant, introduced themselves.

Election of Chair

Rep. Bakeberg nominated Rep. Keeler to chair the Student Attendance and Truancy Legislative Study Group. A vote was taken. Rep. Keeler was elected Chair of the Student Attendance and Truancy Legislative Study Group.

Overview of Enabling Statute

Nick Nigro, LCC Research Analyst, provided an overview of the statute creating the Student Attendance and Truancy Legislative Study Group.

Introduction of Audience

Members of the audience were invited to introduce themselves:

Bob Driver, Minnesota Association of Secondary School Principals

Michelle Krell, Executive Director, Minnesota Elementary School Principals' Association

Colleen Kaibel, Minneapolis Public Schools

STUDENT ATTENDANCE AND TRUANCY LEGISLATIVE STUDY GROUP MEETING MINUTES

Megan Arriola, Legislative Coordinator, Minnesota Department of Education Chuck Wiger, Building Assets Reducing Risk Kris Amundson, Association of Metropolitan School Districts Denise Dittrich, School Boards Matt Shaver, Policy Director, Ed Allies Josh Downham, Minneapolis Public Schools Rick Heller

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 11:14 AM.