

Monday, August 12, 2024 11:00 AM Room 1100, Minnesota Senate Building https://www.lcc.mn.gov/satlsg/

Members Present:

Representative Heather Keeler, Chair Representative Ben Bakeberg Representative Bryan Lawrence Representative Bianca Virnig Senator Steve Cwodzinski Senator Robert Farnsworth Senator Mary Kunesh

Meeting Minutes

Rep. Keeler called the meeting of the Student Attendance and Truancy Legislative Study Group to order at 11:09 AM in Room 1100 of the Minesota Senate Building. A quorum was present.

Approval of July 29, 2024, Minutes

Rep. Bakeberg moved to approve the minutes of the July 29, 2024, meeting of the Student Attendance and Truancy Legislative Study Group. A vote was taken. The motion prevailed and the minutes were approved.

Election of Vice Chair

Rep. Keeler nominated Sen. Kunesh to chair the Student Attendance and Truancy Legislative Study Group. A vote was taken. Sen. Kunesh was elected Vice Chair of the Student Attendance and Truancy Legislative Study Group.

Introduction of Stakeholders / Engaged Partners

The Study Group heard from several stakeholders and engaged partners about student attendance and truancy:

- Matt Shaver, Policy Director at EdAllies
- Mary Moriarty, Hennepin County Attorney
- Ashley Hanson-Oni, Social Worker at Bloomington Public Schools (ISD 271)

- Carol Nanneman, McKinney Vento Students in Transition/Foster Care District Liaison at Bloomington Public Schools (ISD 271)
- Robert Murry, Senior Dreamline Director at The Sanneh Foundation
- Scott Croonquist, Executive Director at Association of Metropolitan School Districts
- Zena Stenvik, Superintendent at Columbia Heights Public Schools
- Bondo Nyembwe, Executive Director of Educational Services at Columbia Heights Public Schools
- Christy McCoy, Legislative Coordinator at MN School Social Workers Association (MSSWA)
- Grace Canny, Student at Prior Lake High School
- Zavia Sidney, Student at Prior Lake High School
- Jacqui Kelch, School Resource Officer at Savage Police Department
- Denise Dittrich, Director of Government Relations at Minnesota School Boards Association
- Roger Aronson, Minnesota Association of Secondary School Principals / Minnesota Elementary Principals Association
- Jim Davnie, Executive Director at Minnesota Alliance with Youth
- Angela Mansfield, Assistant Commissioner at MN Department of Education
- Ivy Wheeler, COMPASS Director at MN Department of Education
- Lana Peterson, Data Practices and Analytics Director at MN Department of Education
- Fatima Molas, Co-founder at Multicultural Autism Action Network (MAAN)
- Nikki Hallberg, Scott County Prevention Supervisor
- Shauna McDonald, Executive Director at Playworks Minnesota
- Ashley Hightower, Hennepin County Attorney's Office Be@School Program

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 1:24 PM.