

Monday, August 26, 2024 2:30 PM Remote via Zoom https://www.lcc.mn.gov/satlsg/

Members Present:

Representative Heather Keeler, Chair Representative Ben Bakeberg Representative Bryan Lawrence Representative Bianca Virnig Senator Mary Kunesh, Vice Chair Senator Robert Farnsworth

Members Excused:

Senator Steve Cwodzinski

Meeting Minutes

Rep. Keeler called the meeting of the Student Attendance and Truancy Legislative Study Group to order at 2:33 PM on Zoom. A quorum was present.

Approval of August 12, 2024, Minutes

Rep. Bakeberg moved to approve the minutes of the August 12, 2024, meeting of the Student Attendance and Truancy Legislative Study Group. A vote was taken. The motion prevailed and the minutes were approved.

Introduction of Stakeholders / Engaged Partners

The Study Group heard from several stakeholders and engaged partners about student attendance and truancy:

- Hannah Burton, Equal Justice Works Fellow at Mitchell Hamline School of Law
- Dr. Vera Ndumbe, Parent and Children Excel (PACE) program in Olmsted County
- Karen Warmack, Director of Polk County Social Services
- Deka Ali, School Liaison at East Grand Foks Senior High School
- Sajid Nur, East Grand Forks Student
- Habsa Good, East Grand Forks Student
- Bahja Yussuf, East Grand Forks Student
- Eugene Sommers, District II Representative of White Earth Band of Ojibwe
- Dan McKeon, Superintendent of Bug O Nay Ge Shig School

- Andy Braulick, Truancy Officer for Brown County
- Dr. Barbara Carson, Professor Emeritus of Sociology from Minnesota State University Mankato
- Melanie Cole, School Engagement Social Worker for Otter Tail County Human Services and member of the Fergus Falls School Board
- Carrie Duba, MTSS Coordinator and Systems Coach at Northfield Public Schools
- Cindy Santa, Family Engagement Navigator at Northfield Promise
- Leah Johnson, Prairie Island Tribal Member and Middle School Liaison for Red Wing Public Schools
- Rob Metz, Deputy Director at BARR Center
- Josh Omang, Principal of Detroit Lakes High School
- Julia Messenger, Assistant Director of Mental Health and Emotional Wellness at Anoka Hennepin School District
- Britt Olean, District School Social Worker at Anoka Hennepin School District
- Kathy Kimani, Director of the Office of School Support at Saint Paul Public Schools
- Tara Cliff, President of School Nurse Organization of Minnesota
- Ashley Hanson-Oni, Social Worker at Bloomington Public Schools
- Carol Nannemann, McKinney Vento District Liaison at Bloomington Public Schools

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 4:41 PM.